• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Weber: Selected Piano Works

    Concert Pieces, Variations

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Carl Maria von Weber
    • Editor: Sonja Gerlach
    • Fingering: Detlef Kraus
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 9790201804149
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 74
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Carl Maria von Weber is best-known as a master of Romantic opera, but he was originally a virtuoso pianist who created a substantial amount of piano music for concert use. Next to his four piano sonatas, the five large and brilliant concert pieces brought together in this book, and two final variation cycles, are certainly his most important piano solo pieces. From the early Momento capriccioso, Op. 12 of 1808 to the dazzling Aufforderung zum Tanz, Op. 65 and Polacca brillante, Op. 72, it is possible to trace by these technically-demanding works the composer/pianist's development of a very mature and impressive formal compositional mastery. In the extensive preface to this thoroughly-researched Urtext edition one can read, among other things, the underlying programme that Weber came up with for the Aufforderung zum Tanz.