• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Breitkopf & Härtel


    Weber: Bassoon Concerto in F Major, Op. 75

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.


    Carl Maria von Weber wrote the present concerto in 1811 for the Munich bassoon player Georg Friedrich Brandt. The date of the world premiere is not known; what is ascertained, however, is a performance in Prague on 19 February 1813 by Brandt, to whom the work was dedicated.

    Along with Mozarts in B-flat Major Concerto, K. 191 (186e), Weber's bassoon concerto is one of the most popular and frequently played concertos for this low woodwind instrument. Weber illustrates the instruments qualities by using a different form in each movement, as we can see in its primary themes: the opening movement is dominated by a rhythmically striking theme; cantabile passages set the tone for the more lightly scored Adagio; and in the closing Rondo. Allegro, the soloist can demonstrate his virtuosity from the very beginning through large intervallic leaps and rapid runs.