Oxford University Press


Vaughan Williams: Symphony No. 4

Item is backordered and shipping time is unknown right now.
  • Composer: Ralph Vaughan Williams
  • Instrumentation: Orchestra
  • Work: Symphony No. 4
  • ISBN: 9780193519671
  • Pages: 176
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Described by Walton as the 'greatest symphony since Beethoven', Vaughan Williams's fourth symphony was composed in 1935 and is noted for its abrasively dissonant harmonic language, unlike much of the composer's other work. This new, scholarly edition, edited by David Matthews, replaces the existing OUP edition from 1935 and the Eulenburg edition from 1983. The preliminary text includes a preface, sources and editorial method, and detailed textual notes.