Vaňhal: Viola Concerto in C Major

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Johann Baptist Vaňhal
  • Editor: Vilém Blažek
  • Piano reduction: Plitchta Jan
  • Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Viola
  • Originally for: Viola, Orchestra
  • Work: Viola Concerto in C Major
  • ISMN: 9790260107977
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 36


The Bohemian composer Jan Křtitel Vaňhal/Johann Baptist Wanhal (also Waṅhal, Wanhall, Vanhal, and Van Hall!) settled in Vienna around 1763. There he wrote several concertos for various instruments, of which two for viola have survived. Both are evidently not original compositions, but arrangements by Vaňhal of some of his own works, a common practice of that time. The Viola Concerto in C major is based on Vanhal's cello concerto in the same key.

This edition replaces the older H3586.