• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Vaňhal: Double Bass Concerto

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johann Baptist Vaňhal
    • Editor: Tobias Glöckler
    • Piano reduction: Christoph Sobanski
    • Fingering: Tobias Glöckler
    • Cadenzas: Tobias Glöckler
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Double Bass
    • Originally for: Double Bass, Orchestra
    • Work: Bass Concerto
    • ISMN: 9790201809793
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 84
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Following Dittersdorf and Hoffmeister, Johann Baptist Vaňhal and his sole double-bass concerto add a further highlight to the classical bass literature in our catalogue. The virtuoso work was transmitted only in a copy of a part owned by the famous double-bass player Johannes Sperger and found in his estate, which raises a few questions on account of the many later additions in the solo part (especially concerning the octave transpositions).

    In Henle's Urtext edition, Tobias Glöckler proposes a solution to this dilemma with a musical text that is outstandingly well-prepared for the performing artist. The piano reduction is printed in two keys (C and D major), which allows for performances in the solo and orchestral tuning or, at will. Moreover an additional part, written in fingering notation, has been specially designed for use with the "Viennese tuning" customary in Vaňhal's days. It allows players to use this resonant historical tuning immediately without tedious retraining.