G. Henle Verlag


Tomášek: Selected Piano Works

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Václav Tomášek
    • Editor: Dana Zahn
    • Fingering: Hans-Martin Theopold
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 979-020180260-2
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 127
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    Václav Jan Tomášek (1774–1850) was a celebrated piano virtuoso of his time and one of Prague's leading musicians. He also made a name for himself as a teacher. Jan Hugo Voříšek, who was highly gifted, was one of his pupils. Some people might know Tomášek as one of the composers who wrote a movement on Anton Diabelli's famous waltz. Yet there is a great deal more to be discovered of his repertoire in this 120-page cross-section of his music.

  • Contains the following pieces:
    • Piano Variations on a well-known theme in G Major, Op. 16
    • 6 Eglogues, Op. 35
    • 3 Ditirambi, Op. 65
    • 3 Allegri Capricciosi di Bravura, Op. 84