Universal Edition


Szymanowski: Métopes, Op. 29

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Karol Szymanowski
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 979-000800232-8
    • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    • Pages: 30

    Polish composer Karol Szymanowski composed Métopes in 1915. It is a cycle of three miniature tone poems drawing on Greek mythology and resembles the impressionism and bitonal works by Ravel and Debussy. Each of the three movements features a female character encountered by Odysseus on his homeward voyage. The work may have been inspired by the metopes of the temple at Selinunte.

  • Contains the following pieces:
    • L'Île des Sirènes. Lento (molto rubato ed improvvisando), Op. 29, No. 1
    • Calypso. Lento (Mesto), Op. 29, No. 2
    • Nausicaa. Allegretto grazioso, Op. 29, No. 3