• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Suk: String Quartet No. 1 in B-flat Major, Op. 11

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Josef Suk
    • Editor: Zdeněk Nouza
    • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
    • Work: String Quartet No. 1 in B-flat Major, Op. 11
    • ISMN: 9790260104808
    • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 84
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    The life of Josef Suk (1874–1935), the well-known composer and professional violinist, was strongly influenced by his membership of the famous "Czech Quartet" (founded in 1892). Suk was part of the quartet until 1933, performing in almost four thousand concerts.

    The String Quartet No. 1 in B-flat Major, Op. 11 (1896) was the first composition alongside the Serenade, Op. 6, which was published by Simrock as a result of mediation by Suk's father-in-law, Antonín Dvořák. Dvořák considered this work of the young musician to be "the best that I know by him." Suk re-wrote the fourth movement twenty years after its completion because he was dissatisfied with the original version. Despite his use of the same thematic material, the new version differs so substantially that this movement is frequently performed on its own.

    The primary source for the original form of the quartet was the second edition by Simrock. for the alternative version of the Finale the present edition is based on a score and parts marked with Suk's corrections.