Chester Music


Stravinsky: Suites Nos. 1 & 2 for Small Orchestra

Expected to ship in about a week.
  • Composer: Igor Stravinsky
  • Format: Study Score
  • Instrumentation: Chamber Orchestra
  • ISBN: 9780711929562


The Suite for Small Orchestra No.1 was composed between 1917 and 1925. This miniature work, comprising an introduction and three national dances, is notable for its prominent rhythms and rich orchestral colouring. Suite No.2 is extremely witty and rhythmically varied. The employment of the piano obligato, tuba, and the colourful application of the percussion instruments are described as particularly original orchestral effects.


  • Suite No. 1 (1925)
  • Suite No. 2 (1921)