• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Smetana: Album Leaves

    Expected to ship in about a week.
    • Composer: Bedřich Smetana
    • Editor: Jan Novotný
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 9790260104303
    • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Smetana's piano works reveals the composer as creator of short, lyrical pieces – moments of repose, varied in character and style. The pieces were mostly written in the 1840s-50s with the intention of composing works using all 24 keys, something which Smetana ultimately did not fully realise. The composer prepared some of them for publication himself – the first six works were published in 1851 as "Album Leaves" op. 2, and others were issued later under the title "Sketches", with the dedication "to Frau Clara Schumann in deepest admiration" (opp. 4–5, 1858). in addition to Opp. 2-5, this edition contains an assortment of pieces including occasional compositions and posthumously-published pieces.