• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Breitkopf & Härtel


    Sibelius: Piano Sonata in F Major, Op. 12

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Jean Sibelius
    • Editor: Kari Kilpeläinen
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • Work: Piano Sonata in F Major, Op. 12
    • ISMN: 9790004175255
    • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    • Pages: 32
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    Listen on Soundcloud


    The Sonata, Op. 12 is the largest of Sibeliuss piano works. Sibelius may have composed it in the summer of 1893. The second movement comes from a work originally planned for male choir to a text from the Finnisch national epic Kalevala. Something of its character my still have shaped the final outcome, with its restless opening bars, sparkling writing in the pianos high register, the calming homophonic passages, and soothing arpeggio writing.

    The first public performance took place on April 17, 1895, in the Solennity Hall of Helsinki University. The first edition was published by Breitkopf & Härtel in 1906.