• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Scriabin: Piano Sonatas - Volume 2

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Alexander Scriabin
    • Editor: Christoph Flamm
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 9790006536917
    • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 48
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Piano works were at the center of Alexander Scriabin's compositional output. As an outstanding pianist, he began writing mainly miniatures for his instrument in the style of Romantic piano pieces. But it was also Scriabin who, unlike any other composer of his generation, contributed to the continuation of the sonata tradition. Particular milestones in his output were fourth and fifth sonatas (1903 and 1907 respectively), in which one hears forms and harmonies not heard previously.

    When these works are occasionally given the name "Poème" Sonatas, this indicates that they stem from the time and allude to the compositional context of Scriabin's daring orchestral works Le Divin Poème' and 'Le Poème de l´exstase'.