G. Henle Verlag


Scriabin: Piano Sonata No. 8, Op. 66

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Alexander Scriabin
    • Editor: Valentina Rubcova
    • Fingering: Michael Schneidt
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 979-020180354-8
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 32
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    In his last years, Scriabin realized a noble and great idea. Inspired by his study of theosophical writings, he dreamed of joining music, poetry, mime, architecture, light, color and even aromas to create a "Gesamtkunstwerk," and thus elevate human beings to a higher level of consciousness. This "Mysterium" was never completed, but his late piano sonatas-conceived as preliminary studies-enable us to see what moved Scriabin. He spent a particularly long time working on his eighth sonata and proofread it intensively; but later quite a few mistakes still found their way into it. Thanks to the autograph and the first edition, ambiguous passages have now been cleared up and corrected in Henle's Urtext edition.