G. Henle Verlag


Schumann: Piano Sonata in F Minor, Op. 14

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Robert Schumann
    • Editor: Ernst Herttrich
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 979-020180346-3
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 123
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    As is the case with quite a few of his works, there are two versions of Schumann's Opus 14 – a three-movement "Concert sans Orchestre" from 1836 and a "Grande Sonata" in five movements from 1853. We do not know the reason for the revision; the publisher of the first version was, however, delighted; he considered the "idea of the concerto" to be very up-to-date. Perhaps Schumann later reacted to what the dedicatee Ignaz Moscheles had said that the piece had "less of the demands of a concerto and more the characteristics of a grand sonata".

  • Contains the following pieces: