G. Henle Verlag


Schumann: Piano Concerto in A Minor, Op. 54

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Robert Schumann
  • Editor: Peter Jost
  • Piano reduction: Johannes Umbreit
  • Fingering: Mitsuko Uchida
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano, Piano Reduction
  • Originally for: Piano, Orchestra
  • Work: Piano Concerto in A Minor, Op. 54
  • ISMN: 9790201806600
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 78
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


As did many piano virtuosi at the time, Robert Schumann also dreamt of presenting himself to the public simultaneously as a pianist and composer with his own piano concerto. He had made several first attempts at an early age. in the years that followed he felt himself increasingly drawn towards the idea of a freer formal conception. The sketch of a single-movement "Phantasie" finally became the opening movement of the famous work.

This edition contains the solo part and orchestral reduction on one system; two copies are needed for performance. Orchestral material available from Breitkopf & Härtel.