Schumann: Frauenliebe and Leben, Op. 42

Bärenreiter - BA7854

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Robert Schumann
    2. Poet: Adelbert von Chamisso
    3. Editor: Hansjörg Ewert
    4. Instrumentation: Piano, Voice
    5. ISMN: 979-000654297-0
    6. Size: 9.1 x 11.8 inches
    7. Pages: 27
    8. Urtext / Critical Edition

    Schumann's song cycle "Frauenliebe and Leben", on poems by Adelbert von Chamisso, deals with the trauma of a woman who loses the man who was her first love and the guiding light of her life. Schumann himself completed what is perhaps his most unified song cycle in blissful anticipation of his union with Clara Wieck.This new edition presents the work on the basis of the first print, using Schumann's autograph for purposes of consultation. The alternative readings in the autograph vocal part also give singers valuable tips for a nuanced delivery of the words.- Original edition for medium voice- Comprehensive bilingual foreword (Ger/Eng) and Critical Commentary (Ger)- The song texts are printed separately and include English translations taken from Richard Stokes' publication "The Book of Lieder"ContentsI. Seit ich ihn gesehenII. Er, der Herrlichste von allenIII. Ich kann's nicht fassen, nicht glaubenIV. Du Ring an meinem FingerV. Helft mir, ihr SchwesternVI. Süßer Freund, du blickestVII. An meinem Herzen, an meiner BrustVIII. Nun hast du mir den ersten Schmerz getan

Type: Sheet Music