Breitkopf & Härtel


Schumann: Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129 (Version for Violin)

This item will ship in about a week.
    1. Composer: Robert Schumann
    2. Arranger: Robert Schumann
    3. Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
    4. Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
    5. Originally for: Cello, Orchestra
    6. ISMN: 979-000417637-5
    7. Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    8. Pages: 56

    Robert Schumann's Cello Concerto Op. 129 can be regarded as the first great concerto for this instrument's repertoire. It is thus somewhat surprising that this work had an extremely problematic reception history at the outset. Schumann wrote the score in 1850, during his Düsseldorf years, but there was neither a concrete occasion nor a soloist for a world premiere. After its publication, more years elapsed before the world premiere. It was only towards the end of the 19th century that Schumann's Cello Concerto finally made its breakthrough as a repertoire piece. The Urtext edition is based on the original print of the parts and the piano reduction, which had still been supervised by Schumann. in addition, the autograph of the score was consulted for purposes of comparison. The internationally renowned soloist Heinrich Schiff took part in the preparation of the edition for cello and piaNo. His experiences have been incorporated into his arrangement of the solo part. With his comments, Schiff also provides valuable tips on the interpretation of the work.