• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Schumann: Concert Piece for Four Horns and Orchestra, Op. 86

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Robert Schumann
    • Piano reduction: Johannes Umbreit
    • Editor: Ernst Herttrich
    • Format: Solo Parts with Piano Reduction
    • Instrumentation: Orchestra, Horn I, Horn II, Horn III, Horn IV
    • Work: Concert Piece for Four Horns and Orchestra, Op. 86
    • ISMN: 9790201811383
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 81
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    "Something quite curious, I believe" – it was thus that Robert Schumann described the Concert Piece for four Horns and large orchestra in a letter, and he did indeed break new ground with this work as far as the scoring and treatment of the instruments was concerned. When it was composed in 1849, the French horn was still fairly new, enabling players to play previously unheard-of runs and free modulations, a fact which Schumann made the most of, particularly with his scoring for four horns. Even today the Concert Piece is the romantic work for horn par excellence and a benchmark for all soloists.