G. Henle Verlag


Schumann: 5 Stücke im Volkston, Op. 102

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Robert Schumann
  • Editor: Ernst Herttrich
  • Fingerings: David Geringas, David Geringas
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Cello
  • ISMN: 979-020180910-6
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 41
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Although Schumann had learnt the cello for a while in his youth, he only began to compose for this instrument in later life. Apart from the cello concerto, only his Five Pieces, Op. 102 have survived as original works for the cello. Clara was delighted with them: "These are pieces in folk style with such a freshness and originality that I was enchanted". The "Neue Zeitschrift für Musik" wrote: "These pieces are less apt for a virtuoso player than a well versed one who can speak on his instrument with tone and meaning."

This edition contains both marked and unmarked string parts.