• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Schubert: Octet in F Major, Op. posth. 166, D 803

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Franz Schubert
    • Editor: Peter Jost
    • Instrumentation: Cello, Clarinet, Double Bass, Viola, Violin I, Violin II, Bassoon, Horn
    • Work: Octet in F Major, D 803
    • ISMN: 9790201805627
    • Size: 9.5 x 12.4 inches
    • Pages: 152
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    The model for this composition was Beethoven's Septet, Op. 20, whose Divertimento character and six-part layout were adopted by Schubert, although he merely expanded the instrumentation by adding a second violin. in a letter he numbered his octet amongst the chamber music works with which he desired to blaze a "path to the great symphony". It can no longer be ascertained whether the composition was commissioned by Count Ferdinand Troyer, who had a musical salon in Vienna and played the clarinet. We only know that Schubert composed the work at the beginning of 1824, taking only a few weeks to do so and that it was shortly performed at Troyer's afterwards. Today it is one of the most popular larger chamber music works.