G. Henle Verlag


Schubert: 2 Scherzi, D 593

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Franz Schubert
  • Editor: Gertraud Haberkamp
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Work: Two Scherzi, D 593
  • ISMN: 9790201804897
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 9
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


It was not his large piano sonatas, but rather his short, characteristic pieces that established Franz Schubert's fame. Like his art songs, they too are full of spontaneous, lyrical inspiration. The two greatly charming Scherzi, D. 593, presumably composed already in 1817, stand at the threshold of Schubert's phase of dance compositions for the piano. The first, dance-like, graceful Scherzo is in B-flat Major. The second, more emotional Scherzo in D-flat Major has a Ländler-like A-flat Major trio as its middle section. The preface and critical report provide information on the source situation of this accurate Urtext edition.