• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Schoenberg: String Quartet No. 2, Op. 10

    with Soprano

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Arnold Schoenberg
    • Editor: Ullrich Scheideler
    • Instrumentation: Soprano, String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
    • Work: String Quartet No. 2 (with Soprano), Op. 10
    • Work Language: German
    • ISMN: 9790201815428
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    This chamber music work, composed in 1907, No. 08, marks a turning point not only in Schoenberg's output, but also for the history of modern music in general. Major-Minor tonality, obligatory for centuries, is increasingly abandoned over the four movements in favor of a free atonality. This break with music-historical tradition goes hand-in-hand with a further breach of convention; in the last two movements, Schoenberg includes a solo soprano singing settings of two poems by Stefan George. with the transition to atonality, Schoenberg opens the way to a new musical language which was to lead to twelve-tone music a little later. Without question, his second String Quartet represents a landmark in the history of music.