Satie: Ogives and Gymnopedies

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Erik Satie
    • Editor: Jens Rosteck
    • Introduction: Steffen Schleiermache
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 979-000654117-1
    • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 15
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    Satie's Ogives und Gymnopédies are milestones in the history of modern music. The four metrically free Ogives (meaning pointed arches) reflect the influence of the French New Gothic or Neo-Gregorian movement in architecture with their clear lines and echo effects. The three Gymnopédies proceed with a swaying, chordal momentum, and Saties radically sparse writing makes ironic reference to the dance of young warriors in ancient Sparta during gymnopaedia rituals. The pieces are easy to play and are ideal for teaching purposes.