G. Henle Verlag


Satie: Avant-dernières Pensées

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Erik Satie
  • Editor: Ulrich Krämer
  • Fingering: Pascal Rogé
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Work: Avant-dernières pensées (1915)
  • ISMN: 9790201811819
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 13
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


In a typically humorous manner Satie countered the myth of the great master's "last thought" with his "Next-to-last thoughts" (Avant-dernières Pensées). As was usual with his piano works from 1912 onwards, each of the three highly distinctive pieces with their sound sensitive piano settings contained a short whimsical story printed in the musical text as a subtext, which is more or less closely connected with the music. Satie dedicated his "Next-to-last thoughts" to prominent contemporaries: Claude Debussy (for no. 1 "Idylle"), with whom he was close friends, Paul Dukas (no. 2 "Aubade", in English "Dawn serenade"), whose music he greatly admired, and Albert Roussel (no. 3 "Méditation"), his former teacher of counterpoint at the Schola Cantorum in Paris.