Saint-Saëns: Symphony No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 78

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Camille Saint-Saëns
    • Editor: Michael Stegemann
    • Instrumentation: Orchestra
    • ISMN: 979-000656333-3
    • Size: 10.0 x 12.8 inches
    • Pages: 192
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    "In this work I gave everything I had to give. […] What I did here I will never do again".

    Camille Saint-Saëns was justifiably proud of his Symphony No. 3 in C minor op. 78, dedicated to the memory of Franz Liszt. Like Beethoven's Ninth, this so-called "Organ Symphony" was commissioned by the Philharmonic Society in London, where it received its premiere on 19 May 1886.

    In this first scholarly-critical edition of the symphony, a great many inconsistencies and mistakes inherent in the previously used edition have been unveiled and corrected.

    Wind set includes: Flute (3) (Piccolo flute (1)) Oboe (2), Cor anglais, Clarinet (in B-flat) (2), Bass clarinet, Bassoon (2), Contrabassoon, Horn (4), Trumpet (3), Trombone (3), Tuba, Drums, Piano