G. Henle Verlag


Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 5 in F Major, Op. 103 ("Egyptian")

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Camille Saint-Saëns
    2. Editor: Peter Jost
    3. Fingering: Pascal Rogé
    4. Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
    5. Instrumentation (this edition): Piano, Piano Reduction
    6. Originally for: Piano, Orchestra
    7. ISMN: 979-020181144-4
    8. Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    9. Pages: 83
    10. Urtext / Critical Edition

    This was the last concerto that Saint-Saëns wrote for his own instrument, the piano. Its subtitle has a dual meaning. Firstly, it was composed quickly in Luxor and Cairo in early 1896; and secondly, the composer incorporated elements of Egyptian and oriental music within it. He even wrote later that "The second movement is a kind of journey to the Orient, which in the episode in F-sharp even reaches the Far East. The passage in G is a Nubian love song that I heard sung by boatmen on the Nile".