• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 22

    Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.
    • Composer: Camille Saint-Saëns
    • Editor: Peter Jost
    • Piano reduction: Johannes Umbreit
    • Fingering: Pascal Rogé
    • Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano, Piano Reduction
    • Originally for: Piano, Orchestra
    • Work: Piano Concerto No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 22
    • ISMN: 9790201813554
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 77
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Given Saint-Saëns' talents both as pianist and composer, it stood to reason that he would engage with the piano concerto genre early on. But he gave a clear renunciation of the "concerto brilliant" that was dominant in France at that time, declaring instead that "the solo part of a concerto must be set out, and treated, like a dramatic role." He realised this concept of a "symphonic concerto" in this second piano concerto, composed in 1868. The solo part is technically very challenging, and at the same time closely bound up with the orchestra.

    The piano reduction for this edition is based on the composer's own version for two pianos.