G. Henle Verlag


Saint-Saëns: Allegro appassionato, Op. 43

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Camille Saint-Saëns
    • Editor: Peter Jost
    • Fingering: David Geringas
    • Instrumentation: Piano, Cello
    • ISMN: 979-020181227-4
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 19
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    At the beginning of the 1870s, Saint-Saëns displayed a particular partiality for the cello. He composed his first cello sonata in December 1872, immediately after having completed the first cello concerto. It was presumably directly after this that he wrote the "Allegro appassionato" for Cello and Piano op. 43 that also appeared in a version for orchestra three years later. We do not know why he wrote the work, but it is likely that after having written two weighty works for cello, Saint-Saëns wanted to write something "easier" that was also suitable as an encore.

    This edition contains both marked and unmarked string parts.