SJ Music


Saint-George: String Quartet in G Minor, G068

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Chevalier de Saint-Georges
  • Format: Score & Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • ISMN: 979-070880782-7
  • Size: 8.3 x 11.6 inches


This string quartet is quite straightforward and pleasant to play. It is by Joseph Boulogne, aka Chevalier St George , who was born in 1739 in Guadaloupe - at that time a French colony – and died in 1799 in France. His father was a former French parliamentary councillor and his mother a black woman from Guadaloupe. He started having violin lessons before moving to Paris aged 10, where his life changed dramatically. He took part in a wide range of activities including riding, swimming, dancing, skating and fencing, excelling in the last and becoming a master swordsman. By his early twenties he was performing his first two violin concertos, opus 2. He had a successful musical career as conductor, violinist and composer, though his colour barred him from the top jobs and prevented him from ever marrying. He later had a military career, then went to Saint Domingue to support a slave rebellion there. When he returned to France in 1797, he tried to resume his musical career but sadly was unsuccessful and, 2 years later, died a pauper. His compositions include operas, symphonies, violin concertos, 12 string quartets and several other chamber works. The Association 'Le Concert de Monsieur de Saint-George' was founded in 2000 to rehabilitate the reputation of this remarkable man.

Some phrasing and dynamics are suggested by the publisher.