Oxford University Press


Piano Music of Africa and the African Diaspora - Volume 1

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composers: Florence Price, J. H. Kwabena Nketia, Halim El-Dabh, Christian Onyeji, Hale Smith, Robert Mawuena Kwami, Ulysses Kay, Isak Roux, Nkeiru Okoye, André Bangambula Vindu, Valeri Capers
    2. Editor: William Chapman Nyaho
    3. Instrumentation: Piano
    4. ISBN: 978-0-19-386822-9
    5. Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    6. Pages: 48

    This first volume for advanced beginners offers a wonderful introduction to Ragtime and Jazz as well as syncopation and different articulations. The pieces range from light-hearted pieces like 'Kwela,' the Zulu term for dance, to soulful and spiritual pieces like 'Dusk.' This volume includes performance notes for each piece.

    * Isak Roux: Kwela No. 1
    * Ulysses Kay: Tender Thought
    * Hale Smith: My Scarf is Yellow
    * Nkeiru Okoye: Dusk
    * Robert Mawuena Kwami: Piano Piece No. 2, Call and Response
    * Halik El-Dabh: Soufiane
    * Hale Smith: Off-Beat Shorty
    * Florence B. Price: Ticklin' Toes
    * Valerie Capers: Sweet Mister Jelly Roll
    * Nkeiru Okoye: Dancing Barefoot in the Rain
    * Isak Roux: Lullaby
    * Valerie Capers: The Monk
    * Bangambula Vindu: Lullaby
    * J. H. Kwabena Nketia: Builsa Work Song
    * Christian Onyeji: Ufie III

  • Contains the following pieces:
    1. Roux: Kwela No. 1
    2. Kay: Tender Thought
    3. H. Smith: My Scarf is Yellow
    4. Okoye: Dusk
    5. Kwami: Piano Piece No. 2 (Call and Response)
    6. El-Dabh: Soufiane
    7. H. Smith: Off-Beat Shorty
    8. Price: Ticklin' Toes
    9. Capers: Sweet Mister Jelly Roll
    10. Okoye: Dancing Barefoot in the Rain
    11. Roux: Lullaby
    12. Capers: The Monk
    13. Vindu: Lullaby
    14. Nketia: Builsa Work Song
    15. Onyeji: Ufie III