Piano Album: Bärenreiter Contemporary Composers

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.


Awarded with the German Music Edition Prize "Best Edition" 2010!

This Piano Album offers a wealth of discoveries and stimulating pieces from twenty composers of the 20th and 21st centuries. These diverse pieces, by composers working in quite different styles, impressively demonstrate how topical and inspiring the piano is for contemporary composers. Their works invite you on a voyage of discovery – using the piano's 88 keys and occasionally its inside workings!

Players experience the anatomy of an individual note, grasp what "touch" means, and experience the piano as a continent of undreamt-of musical possibilities. The pieces which result from improvisation encourage experimentation in the area of spontaneous music-making. Many of the works included here were composed recently especially for this unusual album, or are published for the first time. The cover has been designed by the artist "rosalie", reflecting the lively and varied contents. The collection includes a broad spectrum of repertoire ranging from easy to more demanding works.


  • Barraqué: Retour
  • Bialas: Two Intermezzos
  • Čekovská: famisi
  • Furrer: Two Easy Piano Pieces
  • Hamel: "...es werden nur Steine bleiben."
  • Karassikov: four short pieces
  • Kelterborn: Piano Piece 2 "a una voce - a due mani"
  • Klebe: Theme and 39 Variations
  • Krenek: Prélude
  • Maintz: achtstück. piano piece No. 1
  • Pintscher: on a clear day
  • Scartazzini: abracci auguri
  • Schlee: Silberne Schnur
  • Seither: Sous mes yeux
  • Srnka: ta vetsí
  • Stranz: Meditation
  • Töpel: Canzonetta
  • Trojahn: Prélude No. 1
  • Trojahn: Nocturne. déjà là, printanier crépuscule
  • Winbeck: In nomine Leon(h)ardi