• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • SJ Music


    Onslow: String Quartet in F Major, Op. 8, No. 2

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: George Onslow
    • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
    • Work: String Quartet in F Major, Op. 8, No. 2
    • ISMN: 9790708807667
    • Size: 8.1 x 11.8 inches


    This string quartet, along with other chamber works by Onslow, is worthy of serious study alongside works of other composers of the period such as Beethoven. It has a lively and tuneful first movement, a beautiful theme and variations (including a florid variation with an exciting part for 1st violin), a pretty minuet and trio and a rousing final movement. All instruments have interesting parts.

    George Onslow, an Anglo-French composer, was born in Clermont-Ferrand in July 1784 and died there in October 1853. He was the grandson of the first Lord Onslow and descended, through his mother, from the family of Brantôme. Although he showed no special love of music in his early years, he later became a prolific composer, particularly of chamber music, including 35 string quartets, (this opus 8 No. 2 in F being the fifth) and 34 string quintets, some for two cellos, some for cello and double bass and some for 2 violas. Three of his string quintets and his piano quintet are also published by SJ Music (Q1993-5, Q1991-1, Q1993-4 and Q2005-2).