• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Nielsen: Fantasy Pieces, Op. 2

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Carl Nielsen
    • Editor: Christin Heitmann
    • Instrumentation: Piano, Oboe
    • Work: Fantasistykker for obo og klaver (Fantasy Pieces for Oboe & Piano), CNW 65, Op. 2
    • ISMN: 9790201811314
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 17
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Carl Nielsen's Fantasy Pieces for oboe and piano were composed in 1889-90. Having just gained a position as a violinist in the Royal Danish Orchestra, Nielsen had already experienced success with his String Suite, Op. 1 both as a composer and as a conductor. Several sketches and autographs bear witness to his intensive work on these contrasting pieces for oboe, which were to appear in 1890 as his Opus 2. The two movements, Romance and Humoreske, are dedicated to the oboist Olivo Krause who played in the royal orchestra. His beautiful tone and virtuosic technique probably played no small part in the fact that these miniatures by the "young, talented composer" took the public and critics by storm at their first performance in March 1891.