Mozart: Three Movements for Piano Trio, Fragments K. 442

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Editors: Wolf-Dieter Seiffert, Robert D. Levin
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: Piano Trio (Piano, Violin, Cello)
  • ISMN: 979-020181379-0
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 140
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Mozart often began work on a composition only to put it aside, unfinished. Some of these fragments contain wonderful music, as is proved by these three piano trio fragments. Mozart composed them at different times as individual movements, though the posthumous first edition brought them together as a supposedly new and unknown piano trio by the composer, and on this basis they were given the number "442" in Köchel's catalogue. The first edition used completions by Mozart's friend Abbé Maximilian Stadler that were stylistically correct but possessed little originality. This Henle Urtext edition offers both these versions and newly-composed, highly rewarding completions by Robert D. Levin.