G. Henle Verlag


Mozart: String Quintets - Volume 1

Format Descriptions
Item is backordered with publisher and shipping time is unknown right now.
    1. Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    2. Editors: Wolf-Dieter Seiffert, Ernst Herttrich
    3. Instrumentation: String Quintet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola I, Viola II, Cello)
    4. ISMN: 979-020180777-5
    5. Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    6. Pages: 68
    7. Urtext / Critical Edition

    "Because I only need four parts to express everything" – Haydn is said to have replied thus when asked why he had not composed a string quintet. Mozart saw things differently. He applied himself to this genre six times, even giving important parts to the two violas. The editors were able to refer to the autograph which showed Mozart's intensive compositional work, resulting in the fact that he composed the minuet and finale of the work a second time. The first version of both movements is included in the appendix of Henle's edition, enabling insightful comparisons.

  • Contains the following pieces:
    1. String Quintet in B-flat Major, K. 174
    2. String Quintet (Original Trio to the Menuet), K. 174
    3. String Quintet (First, Rejected Version of the Finale), K. 174