G. Henle Verlag


Mozart: String Quartets - Volume 1 (Salzburg Divertimenti & Italian Quartets)

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Editor: Wolf-Dieter Seiffert
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • ISMN: 979-020181120-8
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


This volume brings together Mozart's youthful attempts at this later so central genre of the string quartet: the astonishing "Lodi Quartet", K. 80 by the only fourteen-year-old composer, the three "Quartet-Divertimenti", K. 136–138 which are also readily played by chamber orchestras, and Mozart's first true string-quartet cycle, K. 155–160 which was composed during his third (north-)Italian journey in 1772, No. 73. Mozart's cleanly written scores of all the compositions have been preserved so that the edition stands on a secure foundation. in his informative commentary, Wolf-Dieter Seiffert, the experienced Mozart editor at G. Henle Publishers, devotes a separate, comprehensive explanatory section to the well-known articulation problem "dot or wedge". The Armida Quartet provided artistic input for this edition.