SJ Music


Mozart: Piano Quartet (arr. from the Piano Sonata, K. 521)

Expected to ship in about a month.
  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Arranger: John Cooley
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Quartet (Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello)
  • Originally for: Piano 4-hands
  • Work: Piano Sonata in C Major, K. 521
  • ISMN: 9790708807483
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches


This piano quartet started life as Mozart's piano duet, K. 521. John Cooley's arrangement of it for piano quartet is very successful, and brings this lovely piece into the hands of string players. The last movement seems to be a tribute to J.C.Bach, whom Mozart met in his youth, as it has a close thematic resemblance to one of Bach's piano duet movements in the same key.