G. Henle Verlag


Mozart: Adagio in B Minor, K. 540

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    2. Editor: Ullrich Scheideler
    3. Fingering: Walther Lampe
    4. Instrumentation: Piano
    5. ISMN: 979-020180137-7
    6. Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    7. Pages: 4
    8. Urtext / Critical Edition

    Mozart composed his Adagio in B Minor, K. 540 at a time when his financial situation was steadily deteriorating. The war against the Turks was constraining the Viennese people's interest in music – works were not commissioned and concerts did not take place. It was of no matter that Mozart had shortly before (in 1787) been appointed a salaried Kammer-Kompositeur. Nevertheless, in this year he composed several of his most important works: the "Coronation Concerto" K. 537, the three late symphonies as well as several piano trios. And he also composed this tender Adagio in B Minor with its captivating expressiveness.