Mozart: 2 Duos for Violin and Cello

after the duos for violin and viola, K. 423, No. 424

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Editor: Dietrich Berke
  • Arranger: Johannes Traeg
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Cello, Violin
  • Originally for: Violin, Viola
  • ISMN: 979-000652769-4
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 51
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


In the 25 years following Mozart's death an enormous amount of his music was arranged and adapted for the insatiable appetite of the European musical public. Nearly every Major work was arranged for piano four hand, even some of the operas were arranged for string quartet or other chamber scoring.

Johannes Traeg, an acquaintance of Mozart and a publisher, quickly responded to the public demand for domestic Mozart arrangements at the start of the 19th century. He published arrangements of the duos, K. 423-424 for violin and cello, published in 1805, are a response to the need for a more active cello part in chamber music.