Mintzer: Concertino for Alto Saxophone, Strings & Winds

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Bob Mintzer
  • Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
  • Instrumentation: Orchestra, Alto Saxophone
  • ISMN: 9790206306082
  • Size: 9 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 28


A three-movement piece which combines orchestral vocabulary with a variety of groove oriented music such as Latin, jazz, and American folk music. It can be performed either with any size string orchestra and winds, or with a string sextet (2 violins, 2 violas, cello, and bass), and woodwind quintet (flute, oboe, clarinet, French horn, and bassoon). The first two movements, allegro moderato and lento, showcase the lyrical side of the saxophone. The third movement, allegro molto, involves a good deal of virtuosity and requires improvisational skills over modal chords.