• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Éditions Heugel


    Milhaud: Viola Sonata No. 2, Op. 244

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Darius Milhaud
    • Instrumentation: Piano, Viola
    • Work: Viola Sonata No. 2, Op. 244
    • ISMN: 9790047311221
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches


    "French composer and teacher, Darius Milhaud (1892-1974) was a prolific composer of the 20th century as a member of 'Les Six'. His compositions remain highly regarded, Sonata No. 2 for Viola and Piano being no exception. Milhaud's compositions are influenced by jazz and polytonality, as exemplified in Sonata No. 2. Composed in 1944, Sonata No. 2 for Viola and Piano is an alternative, exciting sonata made up of three movements; 1) Rural, 2) Dramatic, and 3) Rough. Milhaud makes use of variation in articulation, complex rhythms, chromaticism, accidentals, harmonics, altering tempos, variation in dynamics and a wide tessitura, amongst other aspects. Milhaud's Sonata No. 2 for Viola and Piano is essential to all advanced violists seeking modern and exciting repertoire."