G. Henle Verlag


Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E Minor, Op. 64

In stock and usually ships in 3-4 business days.
    1. Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
    2. Editor: Ullrich Scheideler
    3. Fingering: Igor Ozim
    4. Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
    5. Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
    6. Originally for: Violin, Orchestra
    7. ISMN: 979-020180720-1
    8. Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    9. Pages: 85
    10. Urtext / Critical Edition

    For the first time this celebrated concerto will now appear in a source-critical edition. Ullrich Scheideler depicts how the work evolved, describes its sources, and comments on the musical text. The well-known violinist Igor Ozim has marked up Mendelssohn's approved violin part, adding fingering and bowing marks as an aid to today's performers. He has also supplied a separate commentary showing that Mendelssohn's autograph already contains useful suggestions for shaping the solo part. The piano reduction – a revised version of the one that accompanied the first edition – lies well under the fingers while remaining as faithful as possible to the original text.