• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Wiener Urtext


    Mendelssohn: Songs Without Words

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 9790500571674
    • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches
    • Pages: 212
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    A piano piece in E-flat Major, with the simple title "Lied" (song) was Felix's surprise present to his sister Fanny on her birthday on November 14, 1828. Shortly afterwards she referred to the work as a "Song without Words" and probably coined the phrase under which her brother's lyrical piano pieces, numbering nearly 50, are known today. The present edition contains in addition to the 48 well-known Songs without Words a number of individual compositions which because of their title or character seem to fit the classification Song without Words. These and the above mentioned first example of 1828 are united in this essential compilation of works in a genre favoured by the composer. An enriching addition to the piano repertoire, of interest for teaching as well as for recital purposes.