• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Breitkopf & Härtel


    Mendelssohn: Sextet, MWV Q 16, Op. 110

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
    • Editor: Christoph Hellmundt
    • Instrumentation: Cello, Piano, Violin, Double Bass, Viola I, Viola II
    • Work: Sextet, MWV Q 16, Op. 110
    • ISMN: 9790004502686
    • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    • Pages: 60
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    We should not be deceived by the high opus number 110: the popular in D Major Sextet was written in 1824 and, like many other works by Mendelssohn, first discovered posthumously. It was both published and given its world premiere in 1858. The 15-year-old composer repeatedly and successfully experimented with the genre of the concerto for solo instrument and orchestra, and his efforts can be seen quite strikingly in his chamber works for larger scorings as well. Upon closer examination, the Sextet turns out to be a piano concerto in disguise, with a most unusual string accompaniment. The respective distribution of the roles is clearly recognizable in the score. The stylistic influences of Mozart, Beethoven and Hummel clearly shimmer behind the masterful formal design of the work.