• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Mendelssohn: Organ Sonatas, Op. 65

    Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.
    • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
    • Editor: Hubert Meister
    • Fingering: Wolfgang Stockmeier
    • Instrumentation: Organ
    • ISMN: 9790201802374
    • Size: 12.2 x 9.3 inches
    • Pages: 87
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    It is fully justifiable to claim that Felix is the foremost German church-music composer of the 19th century. This is due above all to his many sacred vocal works in various formats and to his many compositions for the organ.

    The most important among them are without a doubt the six Organ Sonatas, Op. 65, which have become an indispensable component of the general organ repertoire. The spark was possibly lit by two English publishers who – thrilled by Mendelssohn's organ playing – ordered various organ pieces in different formats from the composer.

    These pieces were written in 1844/45 and then collated to form six organ sonatas. However, they did not constitute sonatas in the strict sense of the word, but rather suites. in their multiplicity of forms – reminiscent of chorales and lieder, of polyphonic and virtuoso pieces – they form a genuine compendium of organ playing.