• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Breitkopf & Härtel


    Mendelssohn: Lobgesang, MWV A 18, Op. 52

    Symphony Cantata

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
    • Editor: Wulf Konold
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, SATB Choir
    • Originally for: SATB Choir, Orchestra
    • Work: Lobgesang (Symphony Cantata), MWV A 18, Op. 52
    • Work Languages: English, German
    • ISMN: 9790004180525
    • Size: 7.5 x 10.6 inches
    • Pages: 112
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Felix was commissioned by the city of Leipzig to write the Symphony Cantata Lobgesang for the 400th anniversary of the invention of the printing press by Johannes Gutenberg. The work was given its first performance in Leipzigs Thomaskirche on 25 June 1840. Another performance took place at the Birmingham Music Festival on 23 September 1840. The composer created a hybrid genre here, a formal designation that he took quite literally and which he used here for the first and only time: after the three symphonic movements have flowed one into the other attacca, comes the Lobgesang Cantata in several sections Alles, was Odem hat.

    The present Urtext edition is the first to take into account the parts which were written for the first performances in Leipzig and which help clear up a number of discrepant readings.