• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter Praha


    Martinů: Puppets (Loutky)

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Bohuslav Martinů
    • Editors: Aleš Březina, Giorgio Koukl
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 9790260104204
    • Size: 9.2 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 79


    Despite the extraordinary significance attributed to Bohuslav Martinů's 14 short piano pieces entitled Puppets, surprisingly little is known about the exact time and circumstances of their composition. It is however certain that these are the first works by Martinů which transcended his initial attempts at composition and they quickly found a publisher. Thanks to their lasting popularity particularly with young pianists, they were published in numerous editions. The pieces take the characters of Italian commedia dell 'arte as their theme; Pierrot, Colombine and Harlequin. Also included are dance and ball scenes, as well as scenes from the "private lives" of the puppets. The three editions of Puppets were composed between 1912 and 1925 in reverse order (Puppets III came before Puppets I). The works all differ from one another, beginning with different aesthetic starting points and ending with piano writing which gradually matures. Now the cycle is published for the first time in one volume.

    Book 1 contains: Columbine Dances, The New Puppet, The Shy Puppet, Fairy Tale and The Puppets' Dance Book 2 contains: Puppet Theatre, Harlequin, Colombine Remembers, The Sick Puppet and Colombine Sings Book 3 contains: Pierrot's Serenade, Waltz of the Sentimental Puppet, Colombine, and Puppet's Ball