• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter Praha


    Martinů: Impromptu, H. 166

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Bohuslav Martinů
    • Instrumentation: Piano, Violin
    • Work: Impromptu (Three Pieces for Violin and Piano), H. 166
    • ISMN: 9790260106604
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 14


    Impromptu for violin and piano (H. 166, Paris 1927) begins a new creative period in the life of Bohuslav Martinů. It consists of three short character pieces dotted with daring bitonal chords, balancing as a whole on the very edge of tonality. The composer pitted the more or less diatonic violin part against the greatly dissonant piano. The piece is the first time Martinů appealed to beginning musicians, to whom he decided to give easier access to modern music.