G. Henle Verlag


Marcello: Cello Sonata in F Major, Op. 1, No. 1

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Benedetto Marcello
  • Editor: Annette Oppermann
  • Figured bass realization: Wolfgang Kostujak
  • Fingering: Thomas Klein
  • Instrumentation: Basso continuo, Cello
  • ISMN: 979-020181481-0
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The sonatas published in 1732 in Amsterdam, London and Paris under Benedetto Marcello's name are to the present day firmly established in the cello repertoire. Although Marcello's authorship is not undisputed – by this time, the composer had already specialised in sacred works – the musical beauty of the sonatas is all the more captivating. This four-movement in F Major Sonata offers all cellists well-versed in the first four positions a good introduction to the classical literature and to reading tenor clef. in this Urtext edition, the figured continuo part is additionally furnished with an easy-to-play keyboard realisation by Wolfgang Kostujak. The enclosed solo part provides fingerings and bowing marks for the cellist – and thus the optimal provisions for a class recital!