M. P. Belaieff


Mansurian: Lachrymae - Version for Soprano & Tenor Saxophone

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Tigran Mansurian
  • Format: Performance Score
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Soprano Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone
  • Originally for: Viola, Soprano Saxophone
  • Work: Lachrymae
  • ISMN: 9790203005650
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches
  • Pages: 8


The work was composed in 1999 when a close member of composer's family fell seriously ill. The ode of lamentation is assigned to the two instruments in such a way that they play singly in swift succession, frequently in unison, and then together as in a contrapuntal duet... The sound emanates from two sources, the tone colors of which are complementary and do not form a contrast. The vibrations are strictly synchronized, so that the intoned lamentation seems to come from a single source. This determines the rich simplicity of Tigran Mansurian's music. (Hanspeter Krellmann)